The norton anthology of english literature, volume 2

The Norton Anthology of English Literature, Vol. 2: The Romantic Period through the Twentieth Century (8th Edition)


Read by millions of students over seven editions, The Norton Anthology of English Literature remains the most trusted undergraduate survey of English literature available & one of the most successful college texts ever published.

You are reading: The norton anthology of english literature, volume 2

Firmly grounded by the hallmark strengths of all Norton Anthologies―thorough & helpful introductory matter, judicious annotation, complete texts wherever possible―The Norton Anthology of English Literature has been revitalized in this Eighth Edition through the collaboration between six new editors & six seasoned ones. Under the direction of Stephen Greenblatt, General Editor, the editors have reconsidered all aspects of the anthology khổng lồ make it an even better teaching tool.

“synopsis” may belong to lớn another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Stephen Greenblatt (Ph.D. Yale) is Cogan University Professor of the Humanities at Harvard University. Also General Editor of The Norton Anthology of English Literature, he is the author of eleven books, including Tyrant,The Rise và Fall of Adam và Eve: The Story that Created Us,The Swerve: How the World Became Modern (winner of the 2011 National Book Award and the 2012 Pulitzer Prize); Shakespeare”s Freedom; Will in the World: How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare; Hamlet in Purgatory; Marvelous Possessions: The Wonder of the New World; Learning to Curse: Essays in Early Modern Culture; & Renaissance Self-Fashioning: From More lớn Shakespeare. He has edited seven collections of criticism, including Cultural Mobility: A Manifesto, and is a founding coeditor of the journal Representations. His honors include the MLA’s James Russell Lowell Prize, for both Shakespearean Negotiations: The Circulation of Social Energy in Renaissance EnglandThe Swerve, the Sapegno Prize, the Distinguished Humanist Award from the Mellon Foundation, the Wilbur Cross Medal from the Yale University Graduate School, the William Shakespeare Award for Classical Theatre, the Erasmus Institute Prize, two Guggenhelặng Fellowships, and the Distinguished Teaching Award from the University of California, Berkeley. He was president of the Modern Language Association of America & is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and the American Academy of Arts và Letters.

Carol T. Christ (Ph.D. Yale) is Professor Emeritus of English at the University of California, Berkeley, & President of Smith College. She is the author of The Finer Optic: The Aesthetic of Particularity & Victorian PoetryVictorian và Modern Poetics and editor of the Norton Critical Edition of The Mill on the Floss &, with John Jordan, Victorian Literature và the Victorian Visual Imagination. She is the recipient of an NEH Fellowship và a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

Deidre Shauna Lynch is Chancellor Jackman Professor and Associate Professor of English at the University of Toronto. She is the author of The Economy of Character, which was awarded the MLA’s Prize for a First Book, & editor of Janeites: Austen’s Disciples và Devotees và, with William B. Warner, Cultural Institutions of the Novel. She is also an editor of The Norton Anthology of English Literature. She is the recipient of fellowships from the National Humanities Center và the John Simon Guggenheyên Memorial Foundation, of the State University of New York Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, & of the Northeast Association of Graduate Schools’ Graduate Faculty Teaching Award.

Read more: 100 Top Picks For Homeschool Curriculum Choices: Sonlight Explored

Jahan Ramazani(Ph.D. Yale & M.Phil. Oxford) is Edgar F. Shannon Professor of English at the University of Virginia, previously the Mayo NEH Distinguished Teaching Professor. He is the author of Transnational Poetics, which won the Harry Levin Prize of the American Comparative Literature Association, & of Poetry of Mourning: The Modern Elegy from Hardy to Heaney, which was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. He is also the author of The Hybrid Muse: Postcolonial Poetry in English & Yeats & the Poetry of Death: Elegy, Self-Elegy, & the Sublime. He is coeditor of The Norton Anthology of Modern & Contemporary Poetry. Ramazani is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship, a Rhodes Scholarship, & the William Riley Parker Prize of the Modern Language Association.

Catherine Robson(Ph.D. UC Berkeley) is Associate Professor of English at New York University and a faculty thành viên of the Dickens Project. She is the author of Men in Wonderland: The Lost Girlhood of the Victorian Gentleman và Heart Beats: Everyday Life and the Memorized Poem (forthcoming), & has received fellowships from the NEH, the Guggenheyên ổn Foundation, the University of California, & the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Jon Stallworthy (M.A. và B.Litt. Oxford) is Senior Research Fellow at Wolfson College of Oxford University, where he is an Emeritus Professor of English Literature. He is also former John Wendell Anderson Professor at Cornell, where he taught after a career at Oxford University Press. His biography of Wilfred Owen won the Duff Cooper Memorial Prize, the W. H. Smith Literary Award, và the E. M. Forster Award of the American Academy of Arts & Letters. His biography of Louis MacNeice won the Southern Arts Literary Prize. He is also the author of Rounding the Horn: Collected Poems and Singing School: The Making of a Poet, và editor of the definitive sầu edition of Wilfred Owen’s poetry, The Complete Poems và Fragments; The Penguin Book of Love Poetry; The Oxford Book of War Poetry; và coeditor of The Norton Anthology of Poetry. Stallworthy has received a Guggenheyên Fellowship and is a Fellow of the British Academy và the Royal Society of Literature.

Read more: Unforgettable 10Th Grade Reading List ~ The Organized Homeschooler

Jaông xã Stillinger (Ph.D. Harvard) is Center for Advanced Study Professor of English Emeritus at the University of Illinois. He is the author of The Hoodwinking of Madeline và Other Essays on Keats’s Poems, The Texts of Keats’s Poems, the standard edition of The Poems of John Keats; Multiple Authorship and the Myth of Solitary Genius; Coleridge and Textual Instability; và Reading “The Eve sầu of St. Agnes.” He is the recipient of Guggenheim and Woodrow Wilson fellowships & is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

M. H. Abrams (1912―2015) was Class of 1916 Professor of English, Emeritus at Cornell University. He received the Phi Beta Kappa Christian Gauss Prize for The Mirror và the Lamp & the MLA”s James Russell Lowell Prize for Natural Supernaturalism. He is also the author of The Milk of Paradise, A Glossary of Literary Terms, The Correspondent Breeze, & Doing Things with Texts. He is the recipient of Guggenheyên, Ford Foundation, & Rockefeller Postwar fellowships, the Award in Humanistic Studies from the Academy of Arts và Sciences (1984), the Distinguished Scholar Award by the Keats-Shelley Society (1987), and the Award for Literature by the American Academy of Arts và Letters (1990). In 1999 The Mirror và the Lamp was ranked twenty-fifth among mỏi the Modern Library”s “100 best nonfiction books written in English during the twentieth century.”

Categories: literature

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *