P.L. Gaus – Book Series In Order

Publication order of Amish country mystery books

p.l Gaus is known for his novels that illuminate Amish culture and lifestyle. Born in Athens, Ohio, in 1949, Paul L. Gaus has spent much of his life in Ohio. His extensive travels throughout Holmes and surrounding rural counties in Ohio have provided him with an immense insight into the culture and lifestyle of Ohio’s many Amish sects. It’s no wonder the mysteries he writes take their flavor from the Amish settlements of Holmes County. As an author, Paul writes about the culture and lifestyle of the Amish people. he also includes a bit of mystery and suspense as well as religion in his books.

p.l.gaus’s interest in writing fiction began in 1996 when he was stimulated by author tony hillerman. During that time, he began writing novels based on the Amish in Holmes County, Ohio. Paul received his education from the University of Miami (B.S) and Duke University (Ph.D). He was chair of the department of chemistry at the University of Wooster and has held visiting professorships in chemistry at A and Texas A&M University, the University of Illinois, Ohio State University, and the University of Wisconsin (Madison). He co-authored Basic Inorganic Chemistry, a best-selling high-level book that was published in its third edition in 1995 by John Wiley and Sons.

Paul’s first Ohio Amish mystery, Blood of the Prodigal was published in June 1999 by Ohio University Press. With the exception of the eighth book, The Name of Our Tears, all of his books have been published by Plume, which is a division of Penguin Group USA. Additionally, Christian retailers such as Family Christian Stories, Lifeway, and CBD.com have taken over Amish Country Mysteries editions.

See also  5 Best Construction Cost Estimating Books in 2021 - CivilDigital -

You are reading: Amazon amish fiction books

See Also: Free Ebooks Every Designer Should Read – Undsgn™

Paul’s first mystery was the blood of the prodigal son. This mystery he wrote under the pseudonym HE P.L. Gaus centers on three lifelong friends; a teacher, a pastor and a sheriff. In this mystery, Jonah Mills, found back in the old order Amish community he had once rejected, is shot and his body is dumped on his father’s farm. Thanks to his wild ways, Jonah was expelled from the community by his bishop’s father. It is believed that the son who had come to retrieve his bishop’s father was kidnapped or killed. Jonah’s body is found dressed in Amish garb and three men, all English outsiders, must try to solve the crime and save a life in the close-knit rural religious culture. The intervention of the Three Amigos is a rare occurrence in Ohio’s Old Order Amish communities, as self-described “simple” people hardly ever seek help from an outsider, the “Englishman.” However, Professor Michael Branden, Pastor Caleb Troyer and Sheriff Bruce Robertson must work together, even through their differences, to solve the mystery. Why did Jonah take his son from his bishop’s father and try to expose him to the outside world? Who shot and killed Jonah and why was he found dead and dressed in traditional Amish garb? Could his killer be Jeff Hostettler, the boy’s mother’s brother? After all, Jeff, whose sister, a local teen drug addict, committed suicide, vowed to kill Jonah on sight. With the matter now in the public arena, the sheriff and his deputy find themselves working hand-in-hand with the professor in an attempt to solve Jonah’s murder and find his son, Jeremiah.

See also  7 Best LSAT Prep Books in 2022 - Newest Edition Reviewed - A Tutor

Paul’s second book, Broken English, was published in 2000. Broken English is a story surrounded by deception, honor and revenge. In this mystery, one of the citizens of the peaceful town of Millersburg, Ohio is brutally murdered at the hands of an ex-convict. But David Hawkins, the victim’s father, finds himself in the spotlight when a local reporter covering the story ends up dead by the time the convict was already in jail. To further add to the mystery, the falcons are nowhere to be found; even a search among the protective Amish colony that had brought him into their folds, regardless of his dark past, has turned up nothing. Once again, Professor Michael Branden, Pastor Caleb Troyer and Sheriff Bruce Robertson enter the scene to try to unravel the mystery. the three must work together and sometimes apart to uncover the truth. the professor and the pastor have an understanding of the amish people while the sheriff represents the english world, a non-amish world with a different perspective of the people and the world. The professor and the pastor, who are accepted by the Amish, are often forced to deal with crimes that affect the Amish communities. In this thriller, Troyer knows that Hawkins couldn’t have killed the reporter since he had renounced his violent past and joined the peace-loving society of the Amish people. He, along with the sheriff and the professor, must investigate the ex-con’s secret and prove that Hawkins is not the killer.

See Also: 8 books that have the power to change your thoughts and life

See also  8 Essential Muay Thai Books

Page after page of Paul’s mysteries serve as a reminder of his extensive knowledge of the culture and lifestyle of Amish communities in Ohio. his stories show the rich cultures of the community while touching on the puzzles of human nature. She’s on the 9th mystery of amish country and shows no desire to stop writing anytime soon! Paul’s passion is to bring the Amish culture, lifestyle and religion in the most honest and detailed way possible. he provides insight into himself in the context of criminal investigation, as he believes it provides great insight into the human condition. His characters are believable and allow them to act out his stories. provides outsiders to the Amish community with crisp writing that discusses the Amish rites, culture, lifestyle, relationships, and overall philosophy of this isolated people.

Paul’s stories may be fictional in nature, however the locations are authentic, drawing readers to the real places where the characters in the mysteries are playing their parts.

Paul’s books can be found in various bookstores across the country and on various online platforms.

See Also: The 20 Best Books for 4th Graders

an answer to “p.l. gaus”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *